Possession wears out my soul

Come to me all of you who are weary and I will give your rest. - Matthew 11:28

Come to me all of you who are weary and I will give your rest. – Matthew 11:28

Several months ago, I bought a new sedan. For me, this acquisition is a milestone having worked so hard, saved some, and able to purchase one. I was consumed with thoughts on car care, buying all sorts of car detailing products and accessories. I know I am frugal, but my impulse for this new possession is to be willing to spend as long as it allows me. And I became more pre-occupied comparing it to others, be in the neighborhood or in any parking lot. On few occasions, I mis-maneuvred it producing scratches– one after another. I sit down for many hours searching the Internet for information about quick fix.

Haven’t I realized this beautiful car is just a material thing? It is not life.

I detached myself from this thing and I realize my soul is burdened, my spirit pressed down.

When I bought it, I dedicated it to the Spirt. This would be a vehicle for compassion, kindness, generosity. Whoever needs a lift, this car will serve its purpose. It is a gift and so it is a gift I have to share.

Neale is right.

Here’s giving me a breathe of fresh air:

I believe God wants you to know…

…that every increased possession

loads us with a new weariness.

John Ruskin said that, and he was right. Life is not

about our physical or material possessions, it is about

the Agenda of our Soul. When material possessions

serve that agenda, they can be wonderful and are to

be celebrated. But if they come between us

and the soul, then we may very well be delayed on our holy journey.

Our journey is the path back to peace, to harmony,

to deep inner joy, to love, and to God.

Love, Your Friend…..

neale

Leave a Reply

