What is Love?

What is love?

I think I know what love is not

that fleeting delusion

based on appearances

that thrills the senses

over the moon.

The pure love is know is eternal

that sees the suffering

the pain

the urge for compassion.

I know

the love of a mother to a child

that filial love

brotherly love

that love for the lost

for the weak

for the oppressed

that craves for justice.

That love I sense when I look at the horizon

convinced me I am loved unconditionally

I am a child of the universe

that to me is love.

When I am enfolded by the arms of God till eternity

That, to me ,is the greatest love.

Leave a Reply

